The Plated Prisoner series by Raven Kennedy – No Longer a Trilogy?

Happy Wednesday Book Lovers.

Today we are talking about The Plated Prisoner series by Raven Kennedy. I read Gild last month – aka like five days ago. One thing I have noticed since opening a bookstagram account is the amount of new (to me) authors I have discovered. Gone are the days of only relying on your local bookstore for reading material. The age of the internet has opened the flood gates for authors. More precisely, self-publishing electronic books.

Kennedy has a number of self-published series under her belt.

I really had no idea what I was in for when I decided to read Gild. It wasn’t until I started to do a bit of research for this blog post that I seen all the warnings attached to this series. If you read my last blog post you’ll know I don’t always look into the books I choose to read.

The Plated Prisoner series contains explicit & mature content.

Not the cute romantic kind either.

The Plated Prisoner Book One Gild Synopsis Cover Thoughts

Book One : Gild

Published December 2020 ♥ Kindle Edition 375 pages

Gild Book #1 The Plated Prisoner Series
Raven Kennedy

The fae abandoned this world to us. And the ones with power rule.


Gold floors, gold walls, gold furniture, gold clothes. In Highbell, in the castle built into the frozen mountains, everything is made of gold.

Even me.

King Midas rescued me. Dug me out of the slums and placed me on a pedestal. I’m called his precious. His favored. I’m the woman he Gold-Touched to show everyone that I belong to him. To show how powerful he is. He gave me protection, and I gave him my heart. And even though I don’t leave the confines of the palace, I’m safe.

Until war comes to the kingdom and a deal is struck.

Suddenly, my trust is broken. My love is challenged. And I realize that everything I thought I knew about Midas might be wrong.

Because these bars I’m kept in, no matter how gilded, are still just a cage. But the monsters on the other side might make me wish I’d never left.

The myth of King Midas reimagined. This compelling adult fantasy series is as addictive as it is unexpected. With romance, intrigue, and danger, the gilded world of Orea will grip you from the very first page.

Please Note: This book contains explicit content and darker elements, including mature language, violence, and non-consensual sex. It is not intended for anyone under 18 years of age. This is book one in a series.

When I sat down to write my review, I realized I didn’t have much to say about Gild. The story didn’t really start until almost the very end. I thought about not bothering with a review until I finished the series. Because honestly, that’s how this needs to be read in my opinion. There’s not much point in reading Gild if you aren’t going to read the whole series.

I’m hoping this is a case of the series is better then the individual books.

Gild is told from the perspective of King Midas’ pet Auren. As far as protagonists go, Auren sucks. At one point even she admits to being weak. To have clipped her own wings. I kept waiting for the poor girl to do something. When she finally did, well holy shit balls.

For me, the story didn’t start until the end.

I wonder sometimes if maybe a duology or stand-alone would be better suited for some stories. Right now I am reading Awakening Shadows by Sydney Hawthorn. When I am finished I plan on picking up the next book in The Plated Prisoner series, Glint. So I will have more of an opinion on this then.

The Plated Prisoner series Book 2 Glint by Raven Kennedy Synopsis

Book Two : Glint

Published January 2021 ♥ Kindle Edition 339 pages

Glint The Plated Prisoner Series Book 2
Raven Kennedy

“You want to make your life easier? Then be the caged bird that you are and sing.”

For ten years, I’ve lived in a gilded cage inside King Midas’s golden castle. But one night changed everything.

Now I’m here, a prisoner of Fourth Kingdom’s army, and I’m not sure if I’m going to make it out of this in one piece. They’re marching to battle, and I’m the bargaining chip that will either douse the fire or spark a war.

At the heart of my fear, my worry, there’s him—Commander Rip.

Known for his brutality on the battlefield, his viciousness is unsurpassed. But I know the truth about what he is.


The betrayers. The murderers. The ones who nearly destroyed Orea, wiping out Seventh Kingdom in the process. Rip has power sizzling beneath this skin and glinting spikes down his spine. But his eyes—his eyes are the most compelling of all.

When he turns those black eyes on me, I feel captive for an entirely different reason.

I may be out of my cage, but I’m not free, not even close. In the game of kings and armies, I’m the gilded pawn. The question is, can I out maneuver them?

This is the captivating second book of The Plated Prisoner series. It’s an adult epic fantasy story blending romance, intrigue, and beautiful imagery. Return to the seductive story of magic inspired by the myth of King Midas, and get caught up in the world of Orea.

Please note: There is explicit language and romance in this book, not suitable for those under the age of 18.

Raven Kennedy’s Plated Prisoner Series Book 3 Gleam Synopsis

Book Three : Gleam

Published May 2021 ♥ Kindle Edition 530 pages

The Plated Prisoner Series by Raven Kennedy Book 3 Gleam

King Midas made me the woman I am today. Notorious. Unattainable. His.

The thing about being confined is that you believe it’s to keep the bad out… Until you realize it’s about keeping you in.

I’m now in a strange kingdom surrounded by liars, with no allies of my own, but I won’t sit idly by and let myself wither. No, there’s something that’s bloomed from the pit of my repression. Something dark. Something angry.

But the last thing I expected was for my anger to call out to him. King Ravinger.

He’s sinister and powerful and entirely too seductive. I’ve learned my lesson with trusting manipulative kings, so why does my chest constrict every time he’s near? I need to tread carefully, or I’m at risk of losing much more than just my freedom.

Regret and revenge war inside of me, and I need to figure out a plan fast before I get tangled up in the schemes of kings and queens.

Because I won’t be caught in a cage again. No, this time, It’ll be me setting the trap… I just hope my heart comes out of this unscathed. 

Purchase the Plated Prisoner Series Gild Glint Gleam by Raven Kennedy

On the bright side, as Auren would say, the whole series is available to read. Which is good. I know for me, if I didn’t have access to Glint right away, I’d be dropping the series. Better yet, if you are a Kindle Unlimited member, you can read them for free. Which is how I am reading them. Here is my affiliate link with Amazon(Canada)(USA) if you are interested in purchasing this series.

4th Plated Prisoner Book Glow Book 4 Raven Kennedy

I’ve noticed The Plated Prisoner series will have a fourth book coming May 2022.

I see Amazon has a listing for Glow. No synopsis is avaliable and it isn’t listed on Kennedy’s webpage as of now. You can visit Kennedy’s webpage HERE. I also don’t see it listed on her GoodReads page HERE. So more information at a later time !

I think that’s it for today friends.

If you are a subscriber/follower THANK YOU for being here with me. If you are just passing through, hello ! I hope you enjoyed your stay. Please give me a follow so you can be notified of new posts. Feel free to reach out to me, all of my socials will be linked below. Always on the hunt for some bookish friends.

Success! You're on the list.

One thought on “The Plated Prisoner series by Raven Kennedy – No Longer a Trilogy?

Leave a Reply