A Cursed Kiss About

A Cursed Kiss ♥ Myths of Airren #1 ♥ Jenny Hickman

A Cursed Kiss by Jenny Hickman

Living on an island plagued by magic and mythical monsters isn’t a fairy tale… it’s a nightmare.

After Keelynn witnesses her sister’s murder at the hands of the legendary Gancanagh, an immortal creature who seduces women and kills them with a cursed kiss, she realizes there’s nothing she wouldn’t do to get her back. With the help of a vengeful witch, she’s given everything she needs to resurrect the person she loves most.

But first, she must slay the Gancanagh.

Tadhg, a devilishly handsome half-fae who has no patience for high society—or propriety—would rather spend his time in the company of loose women and dark creatures than help a human kill one of his own.

That is until Keelynn makes him an offer he can’t refuse.

Together, they embark on a cross-country curse-breaking mission that promises life but ends in death.

Perfect for fans of Holly Black’s Folk of the Air series and The Falconer, A Cursed Kiss is the first book in a series of interconnected novels and novellas set on the mythical island of Airren.

Kindle Edition 411 Pages Published November 2021 Midnight Tide Publishing

Add to Goodreads

A Cursed Kiss Review

“There once was a girl from Graystones, seeking a cure for death. She met a witch and begged for help but instead drew her last breath.”

Review

A Cursed Kiss by author Jenny Hickman first caught my eye because of the cover. I am forever choosing books based on their cover. I mean, sometimes I don’t even bother with the synopsis. I had been eyeing A Cursed Kiss for a while now, and after my last read, I needed something a little less heavy and a little more floofy. A Cursed Kiss fit the bill.

A Cursed Kiss follows the adorable and very selfish Lady Keelynn. The night we meet Keelynn is her sister’s betrothal party. Her sister Aveen is set to marry the man Keelynn loves. Lady Keelynn is beyond distraught and is acting out. She wants Robert for herself and is angry with them both for going through with the marriage. I felt so bad for her sister Aveen. From Keelynn’s own admission, Aveen did everything for her. Aveen would go to the end of the earth for her sisters’ happiness, for her wants and needs, casting her own aside. Something Keelynn took for granted.

Jenny Hickman Book Review

When the night is over, Aveen is dead.

Keelynn is convinced her sister died from a curse. A poisoned kiss from a monster, the Gancanagh. No one will listen to her absurd claim, and, due to her actions on the night of her sister’s death, she finds herself betrothed to a man she doesn’t love. Shortly after their marriage, Keelynn becomes a widow. With no one to stop her, she decides it is the perfect time to find the beast that killed her sister.

With her newfound freedom, Keelynn searches for a witch she believes can help her. But unfortunately, she missed the memo that said do not make bargains with witches. Keelynn is not the brightest bulb in the pack, but she makes up for her poor decisions by being adorable. Now cursed by the witch to tell no lies and armed with a weapon to kill an immortal, Keelynn enlists the help of a half-fae named Tadhg to be her guide as she seeks out the Gancanagh.

I loved Tadhg.

NA Fantasy Rec

Tadhg was cursed by the same witch as Keelynn and decided to help her for a fee. On their journey, Tadhg opens Keelynn’s eyes to the horror that has been happening in Airren. Keelynn believes in monsters, trained from birth to be afraid of them, to despise them. But, as they journey closer to Tearmann, Keelynn learns the ultimate lesson. Men are the real monsters, and her relationship with Tadhg moves from enemy to friend.

A Cursed Kiss was beautifully written, with underlying real-world issues, making it well worth reading.

A Cursed Kiss Review

Quotes

My dying heart ached inside my chest, shrinking and withering until only an empty husk remained.

Glass after glass, I drowned my sorrow, waiting for the alcohol to douse the fire of betrayal blazing beneath my skin.

The moon watched like a silvery eye peering through a hole in the heavens.

I had seen his, body and soul. Clinging to him like the ivy climbing these old stone walls.

In eight words, he’d stolen the stars from my sky and squashed them beneath his fine black boots.

Another piece of my shrivelled heart turned to dust.

I wanted to sink into his darkness. For the heat of forbidden desire to burn the pain and sadness until only ash remained.

And he was back to referring to me as Maiden Death.

Fate had a terribly wicked sense of humour.

My mouth crashed against his with the force of a thousand fears.

What was left of my heart turned to dust.

Buy Jenny Hickman Books

Links

Contains affiliate links.

Jenny Hickman : webpage » Instagram » twitter » facebook

Purchase : chapters/indigo » barnes&noble » amazon » kobo » indiebound

Reviews

%d bloggers like this: